1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email

What is the EEA and which countries are EEA countries?


Map of the EEA: EEA Member Countries

Map of the EEA: EEA Member Countries

© PubDom 2008
Question: What is the EEA and which countries are EEA countries?
Answer: EEA stands for European Economic Area. Created in 1994, the EEA combines the countries of the European Union and member countries of EFTA (European Trade Association).

Countries that belong to the EEA are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

Countries that are EEA member countries but NOT part of the European Union are: Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein.

The purpose of the European Economic Area is the participation in the European Market trade and movement, without having to apply to be one of the EU member countries. In part, Scandinavian customs regulations apply to citizens from all EEA countries.

Switzerland, while a member of EFTA, is neither in the EU nor in the EEA.

Image shows current European Economic Area countries in dark blue, with 2008 data.

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Scandinavia Travel
  4. Basic Travel Planning
  5. What Is the EEA?

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.