1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The Scandinavian Countries


On this map, the countries of Scandinavia are highlighted in yellow.

On this map, the countries of Scandinavia are highlighted in yellow. Click to zoom.

(c) TM2012

Where is Scandinavia:

Scandinavia is a region in northern Europe. The Scandinavian Peninsula is the largest peninsula in Europe and it extends from above the Arctic Circle to the North and Baltic Seas. Scandinavia is a historical and geographical region covering much of Northern Europe.
In the past, Scandinavia has been defined as the three kingdoms that historically shared the Scandinavian Peninsula. Today, most define Scandinavia as a region which includes:If you would like to be introduced to the Scandinavian countries and have ever wondered where exactly Scandinavia is, you have come to the right place...


The southern-most Scandinavian country, Denmark consists of the Jutland peninsula and over 400 islands, some of which are linked to the mainland by bridge. Almost all of Denmark is low and flat, but there are many low hills as well. Windmills and traditional thatched cottages can be seen everywhere. Note that the Faroe Islands and Greenland both belong to the Kingdom of Denmark.
Official language: Danish. Capital: Copenhagen.
Learn more in Category: Denmark


Also called "The Land of Vikings, and the Midnight Sun," Norway is the northernmost country in Europe. Norway has a jagged expanse of islands and fjords. The maritime industry sustains the economy here.
Official language: Norwegian. Capital: Oslo.
Learn more in Category: Norway


Sweden offers numerous lakes and is the largest of the Scandinavian countries - both in land size and population. Volvo and Saab both originated here and are a big part of the Swedish industry. Swedish citizens are independently minded and highly regard their people-oriented social programs, especially in women's rights.
Official language: Swedish. Capital: Stockholm.
Learn more in Category: Sweden


With a surprisingly mild climate, Iceland is Europe's westernmost country, the second largest island in the North-Atlantic ocean. Flight time to Iceland is only 3 1/2 hours from the European mainland. Iceland has a strong economy, low unemployment and low inflation, and its per capita income is among the highest in the world.
Official language: Icelandic. Capital: Reykjavik.
Learn more in Category: Iceland


Finland is another country where the weather is better than many tourists expect. Finland also has one of the lowest immigration rates in the world. Official language: Finnish (aka Suomi). Take a look at the weather in Finland, and learn more about the travel destination Finland and its interesting capital Helsinki.
Learn more in Category Finland.

Now that you know more about Scandinavia's countries, take a look at the maps of Scandinavia and learn more about the capitals of Scandinavia.

About Scandinavia:

Scandinavia is considered to be the northern European peninsula that includes the countries of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, and several thousands of islands. In modern times, sometimes Finland is considered to belong to this region, if only partially in terms of either culture, travel or political issues at some point. Also see Scandinavia or Nordic Countries?

Be sure to explore the country-specific categories on the left to learn more about the countries of Scandinavia, their capitals, and more travel tips! You can also take a look at the Maps of Scandinavia!

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Scandinavia Travel
  4. Basic Travel Planning
  5. The Countries of Scandinavia

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.